"wet Look" Oil Finish

DGW

I'm looking for any information that may help me achieve a "wet look" oil finish.

I'm working with a padauk body ...

All I've done so far is prep it and give it a good coat of danish oil.

I read another in another thread to use 600 grit sanpaper to sand in the danish oil, so that's what I did.

I was going to just finish it up with beeswax, but I'm not sure that will give me the shiney look I'm going for.

Any and all suggestions welcome.

DSC09997a.jpg

*edit*

This is the look I'm basically looking for (still wet with danish oil) ...

DSC00029a.jpg

Thanks! :D

Edited by DGW

I have no experience applying an oil over an oil, but my guess is that it should be just fine applying tru-oil over danish oil. Always test on scrap first to be positive that what your finishes are compatible with each other.

No, it wont remain oily. It dries pretty hard for a simple oil varnish, but it doesn't compare to lacquer or polyurethane type finishes. I don't know if I'd say it offers any kind of protection. My 6-string has already had a couple small dents and dings and it doesn't look like the tru-oil prevented any kind of damage. I strongly recommend you cut up an old cloth shirt and apply tru-oil with it, that's about the most consistent results you'll get by hand.

Here's a couple instruments I've finished with tru-oil.

6-string%20Fretted%2015.JPG_IbanezSR4063.jpg

I strongly recommend you cut up an old cloth shirt and apply tru-oil with it, that's about the most consistent results you'll get by hand.

Is there any other way except "by hand" to get better results?

I have equipment, buffers, etc ...

Awesome bass btw. :D

Edited by DGW