Increasing Resistor Wattage

grungehead

I need a 2W 10K resistor for an amp discharging tool, but the local Radioshack doesn't carry them...

However, they do carry 10K resistors at 1/2 W and 1/4 W and such..

As you can probably tell by now I'm a noob at wiring resistors.. my question is: Can I wire two or more resistors to get 2W 10K?

I did a search on here and google but I think I'm not phrasing it right or somthing because I'm coming up with zilch.

Thanks for you help guys

You can go four resistors in series 2.5k ohms each at 1/2 watt to get what you want or as the post below said four in parallel at 40k ohms at 1/2 watt each. In series the current through each resistor is the same as the 20k resistor alone but the voltage drop across each one is 1/4 of the source voltage. . The power dissipated across each resistor is

P (power)=E (voltage) x I (current). Each resistor shares part of the total power used in the circuit. In the parallel circuit the Voltage across each resistor is the same but the current through each resistor is 1/4 of the total. It's all good..

FWIW, I use a 220k 1/2w to discharge tube amp caps. No problems yet. The resistor never gets warm in any way, so to me that says that a 1/2w resistor is fine.

Just DON'T leave it in when you turn on your amp. I've never done it, but I imagine it's a fireworks show. :D

Wow, thanks alot guys. I opened up my amp today and found out, to my surprise, that is was a solidstate :D

But all is not lost! I found out that my problem was that I had a blown fuse. I replaced the fuse and the amp just blew it up again. I replaced it again and it started smoking and then blew. I'm going to have to buy a new amp and I'm looking at some tube ones.. so this information is really helpful. However, after playing several tube amps and can honestly say I did not see much of a difference between my Crate and the tube heads at GuitarCenter.