Changing Active To Passive?

DanBB

Hello

I own a 80s/90s Charvel Spectrum which came with 3 Jackson single-coils with active circuitry which I am trying to replace with white noiseless Fender-style Dimarzios / Seymour-Duncans. I have researched on the internet and found that although my particular guitar's circuitry is active, the pick-ups themselves are passive and don't contain pre-amps in the actual pickups like 'ordinary' actives (like EMGs). My question is, does this mean I can keep the existing electrics and simply connect 3 new Strat-style single-coil passives to the existing set-up, or do I need to rip out all the active circuitry and buy completely passive wiring?

Hope you can help.

Cheers

Dan, UK

I am not an electronics expert, so I can't give much help there. But I would try going to the Jackson/Charvel Forum. There are a lot of knowledgeable guys over there when it comes to this kind of stuff. A lot of guys are just collectors and players, but there are a good number how really know the technical sides of those guitars.

No pickup whatsoever is actually active. The “active” pickups are combinations of low impedance coils (single or humbucking) with buffer and amplifying circuitry cast into the same cover. Then there are other that have the buffer/amplifying circuitry outside of the pickups but they are still low impedance pickups. And the third version is traditional high impedance pickups combined with active tone shaping circuitry (active bass and treble, boost etc).