Diagnosing Fret Buzz

Hi guys.

I'm pretty new to the whole guitar building thing. I recently assemebled a guitar and I'm have an issue I can't seem to resolve. I have this buzzing tone almost like the strings are hitting up against a fret. This noise is ONLY on the 4,5,6 and 7th fret. Past those frets it goes away. I have tweaked the truss rod (gently) to give some relief, but it's still there. The only time it goes away is when I shim the front of the neck pocket (towards the headstock). But that makes the action unbearably high. I would really love to figure this out and fix it on my own without a tech. I'm hoping you guys could steer me in the right direction...

Your frets are not level. You can probably search this forum for info, or read about it in a guitar building book. But basically, you need a perfectly flat abrasive surface (say sandpaper attached to a long flat block). Use this to level the frets and then use a fret file...

http://www.lmii.com/CartTwo/thirdproducts....n%2D1+Fret+FILE

.... to re-crown the frets. That's the nutshell version... you should find a more detailed source and read about it.

Your frets are not level. You can probably search this forum for info, or read about it in a guitar building book. But basically, you need a perfectly flat abrasive surface (say sandpaper attached to a long flat block). Use this to level the frets and then use a fret file...

http://www.lmii.com/CartTwo/thirdproducts....n%2D1+Fret+FILE

.... to re-crown the frets. That's the nutshell version... you should find a more detailed source and read about it.

I solved it about an hour ago! LOL! :D

So I've been struggling with these 4 frets for 2 weeks now. I read up on fret leveling. Did it using sandpaper (400 grit). It took a couple times. Then today my crowning file came in from Stew Mac and I did a pretty damn good job if I say so myself and that didn't clear it up... I was getting really frustrated.