U.s. Cherry As A Tonewood?

Hey there,

Im a carpenter and i have an old stock of US cherry,

First project is done im looking for the next now...

I have 2 slabs US cherry for about 15 years in my store,now the question is can that wood be used as a maple alternative?Is it used before on guitars?I was planning to use it as a top on a hollow body electric guitar with mahogany back.

It would be a shame to use a 15 years old(at least) wood to carpentry...

Anyone that has some info about that please tell me what's goin on with that wood.

• 1 month later...

Not to bump an old thread or anything, but could anyone give me a quick tonal comparison of cherry to other popular woods? It's pretty cheap at the store I buy from, and I'm planning on going down to buy wood for project 3 in a few weeks. Before I drop a bunch of money on (most likely) khaya, I'd like to know what others think.

Not to bump an old thread or anything, but could anyone give me a quick tonal comparison of cherry to other popular woods? It's pretty cheap at the store I buy from, and I'm planning on going down to buy wood for project 3 in a few weeks. Before I drop a bunch of money on (most likely) khaya, I'd like to know what others think.

Well, I hope it sounds it great. Just picked up some 8/4 figured cherry to use for body blanks. I'm expecting a tone similar to Mahogany, but brighter. Cherry does seem to be used in acoustic guitars from time to time. I found the following description:

http://www.northstarguitars.com/tonewoods.html

Cherry is a different tonewood. It is medium density, and is quite strong. It has a 'dark'

tone, and a strong fundamental. It is a great wood for a strumming guitar, where it's tones

can really be brought out. It has a reddish brown color, which tends to darken with

exposure to the air. This darkening stops when the finish is applied. This to us, is an

under-utilized tonewood. We will be using this more in the future. It would also be