Neck Attachment Question

Hi Guys,

I'm a complete newbie at this guitar building stuff- in fact the project I've just started more involves assembling parts rather than actual building. I've bought myself a nice alder body, and am looking at getting a decent neck, but I was wondering how best to attach it. The body is second hand and already has bolt-holes drilled, but the neck I'm looking at doesn't. Woud it be best to drill holes into the neck (something I'm a little bit nervous about) or would I be able to glue the neck in with hide glue?

Any advice would be appreciated

Sam

Dill the pilot holes. It's not hard. Use a depth stop then you'll be able to get just the right depth.

If you don't have those fancy clamp on stops, you can make one from a small dowel or scrap of wood.

-Doug

I wouldnt glue a neck into a bolt on pocket, because there wont be enough surface area to make a good joint.

Clamp the neck into the pocket and draw through the existing hole on the body onto the neck to show where the hole needs to be drilled for the bolts.

If the body is already drilled for the bridge ensure that you have a neck to match it e.g the number of frets and the scale length need to match what the body is drilled for.

I

If the body is already drilled for the bridge ensure that you have a neck to match it e.g the number of frets and the scale length need to match what the body is drilled for.

The bridge is already attached to the body - how do i know what number of frets and scale length it is for?

thanks

You need to find out what the scale length the body was prepped for in order to get the correct neck. Was the body setup for a 24 fret neck or 21 or 22 etc.? Where and who did you get the body from? What type etc. You should probably pick up a copy of "Make your own electric guitar" by Melvyn Hiscock and do a lot of research on this site for help.

Jeff