Tune-o-matic Type Installation

Hello all...just joined the forum.

I have been playing for many years, mostly classic rock "My Era Stuff"

I have two questions that hopefully some of you guys with more building knowledge can answer.

On a Les Paul type guitar with the stop bridge / tune o matic style, i am assuming the angled neck pocket is needed due to the height the bridge is from the body.

1. Can I use this style and route a shallow recess for the tune o matic, and not have to angle the neck?

2. Will some one explain the theory behind the angled headstock, and options not to have to use one?

Thanks to all very much

Mike

An angled headstock being stronger is not entirely true. A scarf jointed head stock is going to be stronger than a one piece neck because of the grain orientation. And really I think there is a strong argument to be made that a straight headstock can be stronger. You have a continuous, straight grain orientation. And you see less Fender's with snapped headstocks than you do Gibsons.

One of the main benefits of the angled head is that it will allow you to bypass the use of string trees. Than angle head forces the strings to make the bend over the nut, creating enough pressure to keep them securely seated in the nut.

One of the main benefits of the angled head is that it will allow you to bypass the use of string trees.

...or indeed staggered-height tuner posts, I believe!

Also, I was always led to believe that having the headstock angled back improved the nut's "break-off" point, (ie the point on the nut where the string leaves the nut and continues to the bridge) by pulling the string down over the back of the nut, and thusly improves the intonation.