Can Sealer Just Be Sanded Off?

Hi, I'm completely new to guitar finishing but am going to attempt my first project. I am having a really hard time finding the answer to this on any forums or websites.

I have a body that was sanded and then sealed with 2 coats of a sealer called bullseye.

I am trying to decide how to finish this guitar...if I were to want to stain the wood, could I just sand off the coats of sealer? I can't stain over the sealer because it won't accept the stain correct?

Thanks for your help...

Andrew

of course, why wouldnt you be able to? but i dont see what the big deal is with people new to refinishing. they always want to strip a guitar and leave it natural. the are usually painted for a reason.

thanks for your help...

it has a flame maple top so I'm not sure I want to paint unless I do something transparent...thanks again!

Andrew

bullseye is a shellac type finish ,i beleive, which on itself would sand off fine; but i seem to recall some bullseye cans saying something like 'penetrates' or something on it; i might of been looking at to many things at once, but i remeber something like that, and i didnt want to touch it; that would make the stripping process hard

I just called Zinnser today, and they said they think I would get the best results by using a stripper, so I think I'll use denatured alcohol. They said I might be able to just sand it off, but it would be harder to do, or they said I could just sand it real thin an then stain over it, but that it would be hard to make sure it was even everywhere to ensure the stain would stain even.....so all that said I'll probably strip it and then do some sanding...

The advantage to leaving the sealer is it gives you a nice solid, smooth surface. Which is one of the most difficult parts of getting a good finish.