Silvertone 1482 Questions

otgordin

Hi, I have a 1960s silvertone 1482 that I got at a garage sale 6 years ago. I've been abroad the past 4 years and it spent that time in my parents' basement. Now, when I turn it on, the jewel light comes on. However, the amp pops and cracks and does not respond to any change in what i do to the inputs (guitar1 guitar2, mic) or knobs on the front. To the best of my knowledge, the amp worked fine when I put it down there. I have a degree in engineering with some circuits/microcontroller experience and am decent with a soldering iron, but have never worked on tubes. Any help troubleshooting this old gem of an amp would be very much appreciated.

-Vadim

P1000676.JPG

Hmm, worked 4 years ago, then after sitting 4 years, doesn't work. I know little about amps, but I have to say if that thing still has original filter capacitors, I bet that's the problem.

+ 1

That is the first thing I would check.

Roman

hmmm.... I'll have to find myself a decent multimeter and check it out then. What's a ballpark figure for the cost to replace the caps in one of these? [a guess is all i'm looking for] Thanks.

-Vadim

hmmm.... I'll have to find myself a decent multimeter and check it out then. What's a ballpark figure for the cost to replace the caps in one of these? [a guess is all i'm looking for] Thanks.

-Vadim

depending on the size of them not much i would say. most of the amps back in those days had 50c5's or similar line operated tubes. so its usually less than 200 volts dc.

although a bit extreme in a pinch i have used the disposable camera capacitors in a pinch. that was way over kill on the capacaitance level.

alot of the older amps will pass some voltage on the caps. some like to say this is vintage and if its a few volts to leave it be. i am from the school of a cap blocks dc if it doesn't tis broken.