Maple Neck Question

Hey all. I'm in the process of planning out a Warmoth assembly for one of my brother's friends. Regarding the neck, I've come up with a simple question that I'm surprised I haven't been able to find on the boards already.

Most people do a hard lacquer finish on their one-piece maple necks. Well, I'm looking to finish the body and neck in Minwax tung oil, and was wondering how, if at all, to go about doing the fretboard. I've never worked with a maple fretboard before, but since I've read lots of literature requiring the fretboard to be sealed, I was wondering if tung oil would work. Also, because it's a Warmoth neck it's going to have the frets already in. Would the oil interfere at all with the frets? I know it'll definitely make sanding more difficult :D but I can't think of any other reasons.

Hey all. I'm in the process of planning out a Warmoth assembly for one of my brother's friends. Regarding the neck, I've come up with a simple question that I'm surprised I haven't been able to find on the boards already.

Most people do a hard lacquer finish on their one-piece maple necks. Well, I'm looking to finish the body and neck in Minwax tung oil, and was wondering how, if at all, to go about doing the fretboard. I've never worked with a maple fretboard before, but since I've read lots of literature requiring the fretboard to be sealed, I was wondering if tung oil would work. Also, because it's a Warmoth neck it's going to have the frets already in. Would the oil interfere at all with the frets? I know it'll definitely make sanding more difficult :D but I can't think of any other reasons.

It's gonna work, but without a film finish, the fretboard is gonna get dirty reall quick from regular playing. Not totally undesirable IMHO, but just something to keep in mind.