Grain Filling

hail!

I live in a place where the term "grain fillers" is not heard of apparently. I can get hold of normal thick-paste wood fillers easily though. Can i fill a mahogany guitar with this stuff? it was my first ever guitar to complete and i have to refinish it as i was a complete noob and thought that spraying enough lacquer would fill it up.... which didn't work out as well as i thought.... so now i'm sanding the whole thing again (after wasting so much money on numerous minwax poly cans) and redoing the guitar completely.

any info would be great! heard that u can also mix the thick paste with some water (or alcohol) to make it a bit softer... any truth in that?

Hi Sami,

I don't know about thinning the wood filler, but if you really can't find grain filler anywhere, and can't order it, you can grain fill with some types of epoxy. They're finishing epoxies, so they pour thinner and sand easier, and some hobby stores carry them. I think the one most discussed has been z-poxy, but I'm sure there are others. Try searching the forum for grain filling and epoxy.

Regards,

Todd

Z-poxy Finishing Resin is lovely to work with and sand, gives you a nice amber hue if you leave it on the surface (as epoxies go...prefer it to paste or waterbased fillers, personally), and the big boys like System3 and West Systems have suitable epoxies (clearcoat and the like, UV inhibited and designed to look good).

Even where I live (Canada), I found it hard to find grain filler and sanding sealer until I knew where to look. First I was only looking at places like Canadian Tire, Home Depot, Kent, and other hardware stores. But I ended up finding what I needed at a special paint store like Benjamin Moore. You might have Glidden or Sherwin-Williams where you are, you might wanna give them a try if you havent already. If all else fails you could try someone like a furniture or cabinet maker, or someone who deals with finishing woods.

Good Luck!

:D