Shellac Tests (total Noob!)

dpm99

I've been working on a test piece of mahogany, just playing around, seeing what I can make happen. I sanded with 100 grit, 220, 320, and 400. Then I dyed it black. It didn't get black-black. It just darkened it. So I mixed 1/2 lb. cut shellac with black dye and have gone over it with about five coats now. I'm applying it with a ripped up t-shirt. Between each coat I lightly scuff with 400 grit sandpaper.

I noticed that it was coming out very uneven. Then I noticed that if I put shellac on a spot, it seemed to be taking off the shellac beneath it. I think this is because I was waiting only an hour or two between coats, but I read somewhere that was about right. It feels dry almost as soon as I put it on, because of the high alcohol content.

If something in there sounds really stupid, please point it out. I seem to be doing something wrong, and I have very little experience with finishing.

Thanks,

-Dave

P.S. If anyone has a good way of making the wood almost completely black without totally losing the grain, I'd be interested to hear about it.

Edited by dpm99

Doesn't matter how long you wait with Shellac, the alcohol in what you apply will disolve the coat under it. I think you have two problems.

One, you are tinting the shellac black but want the grain to show. I don't think you can have black mahogany where the grain shows, the wood simply doesn't have that much contrast in the grain. You might have more luck with stain than dye, but I don't know.

I think your problem with the shellac is that you are applying 1/2# cut using a rag and sanding. It's so thin, that you're not getting enough built up and you're simply disolving the entire coat thickness each time you add a coat.

Because the second coat is going to disolve itself into the first, don't sand between each coat, just lay a couple of coats down with a very soft brush first. Once you get some thickness built up, you can sand.