Drill Press Issue

avengers63

I was hogging out some pup cavities this weekend when the bit started to have a nasey shimmy to it. When I stopped the drill and raised the thing back up, the chuch had fallen off!!! :D I looked and looked to see what happened, but I couldn't even find out how the thing was attached in the first place. By the looks of it, it was just mashed onto the turney-thing (real techincal, huh) and held on with a hope & a prayer.

So... what do I do now?

Seriously... the chuck is just jammed onto the verticle axle?

That seems hokey somehow. It seems to me that some kind of screw would be a much more effective means of holding it there than friction. Then again, I'm a network engineer, not a mechanical engineer,so I guess I'll just leace it to them.

Maybe I'll try putting a piece of wood underneath it and lower the press hard onto the block to jam it into place.

Hey Avenger, what will really get you is when you buy a new fancy drill press and the chuck is not installed! :D

Yeah, I opened up my last drill press (nothing too special, but better than some I guess) and found no chuck attached and was very confused. Then when I found the chuck in a bag and took it over to the press I was even more confused???? It was then time to read through the instruction manual. I too was very surprised to find that a hammer and block or rubber mallet was the installation procedure for a drill chuck. It was cool though and easy too. I think the way its designed like that helps to ensure you can't screw up the alignment on it, or at least thats what it seems. J

much easier to machine a tapered cone than splines (going back hundred + years ago) It's quick to swap parts (if you have two chucks imagine the difference swapping two chuck complete with bits than swapping the bits! it always centres/can't go on squint. All this and it works! genius!

you should shock it onto the shaft using a hammer it how its designed to be done!

Edited by joshvegas