Series/parallel And Phase Switch With Single+humbucker

~davie

hey, i currently have a SSS (3 single coil) setup and i have a series/parallel switch and phase switching, so i can get 11 DIFFERENT tones from this custom wiring setup (5 strat stock positions, 2 series+reverse phase, 2 parallel+reverse, 2 series+normal phase).

so i was wondering.. cus i might change it up to a SSH (2 single coils+1 humbucker) setup. so i was wondering if there is a difference in tone between series S-H and series-reverse S-H? also what about between parallel S-H and parallel-reverse S-H.

i'm not an expert on electronics or whatever, i just wanna make sure if any of these pickup settings are redundant or not in terms of sound.

i DO enjoy the sonic variability of the SSS with this setup. however i just wanna try to embrace some more flexibility in terms of style with the humbucker sound using the same setup, but just using SSH instead. if there are more tonal options to be offered then i'll invest myself in a good humbucker pickup.

note: the phase-reversal is obtained through swapping + and - terminals of the middle pickup using a switch

thanks in advance! :D

Edited by ~davie

The Seymour Duncan website has a ton of wiring schematics as well.

My main ax has 2 HBs and a 3-way selector. Both pups are wired to go series & paralell and there is a phase switch in between. When it's all said & done, I have 9 separate tones. Honestly, there are a few that are pointless. The difference between the tones is so subtle that unless you know what the setting id, you won't know the difference, and then only if you're listening. On top of that, if there is more than a medium overdrive, those subtle differences become even more obsured.