Seeking Butterscotch Blonde Formula

Hello to everyone !! Great site here and thank you for having me.

I am pretty much a newbie at guitar building and found that it is indeed an addicting hobby. I have built 3 or 4 telecaster style guitars now and I want to finish one in that elusive Butterscotch Blonde. I have been refinishing automobiles for some 30 years now so, needless to say, I'm not afraid to apply finish to the wooden body of a guitar.

My question is: Does anybody know if there is a formula for this color? (the body is made of ash) I know that reranch has this color in a spray can, but I am looking for another route or a formula that I can mix myself. Anyone ??

Thank you in advance, JohnCarroll

The vintage Teles used nitrocellulose lacquer, the most recent ones polyester. If you want to end up with a finish that behaves like a vintage one (including checking/cracking), nitro is the way to go (and not many coats at that). If you want it bulletproof, go with polyester or urethane (much like the stuff you already have experience with).

I think your best best is to try to source the pigment used (perhaps ReRanch sells it?), mix up your own batches and shoot on scrap. You'll probably need to contact the manufacturer(s) to find pigments soluble in your preferred choice of clear.

Hello to everyone !! Great site here and thank you for having me.

I am pretty much a newbie at guitar building and found that it is indeed an addicting hobby. I have built 3 or 4 telecaster style guitars now and I want to finish one in that elusive Butterscotch Blonde. I have been refinishing automobiles for some 30 years now so, needless to say, I'm not afraid to apply finish to the wooden body of a guitar.

My question is: Does anybody know if there is a formula for this color? (the body is made of ash) I know that reranch has this color in a spray can, but I am looking for another route or a formula that I can mix myself. Anyone ??

Thank you in advance, JohnCarroll