Best Way To Remove Substantial Material From An Existing Neck

Okay, so here is the situation, back in high school I built a neck through guitar and wasn't aware of online places where I could find all this great information. So now I have a guitar with a bad fretboard and a neck that is too thick. I already pulled the fretboard and will be replacing it, but my problem now lies with the neck itself. I have a hotrod in there, but I have slightly more than a quarter inch of wood behind it. The neck always felt way too thick, so I want to take down around an eighth inch from the back to thin the neck out. It seems to me that this is a little too much for just sanding to handle (except maybe a belt sander), so I guess my question is what is the best way to get rid of this material? I am contemplating a planer or possibly the belt sander. Anyone have any other ideas? I have never done something like this before and just want other people's input. Thanks for all the help.

I'd use a spokeshave as well - I have one set up to really hog away material just for this purpose, and leave my main shaves set up to remove quite thin shavings and leave a very nice finshed surface.

I've also used some heavy duty rasps/surforms, but that can be a hassle at times.

Another option I've used to remove a lot of material from the back of a neck when starting with fairly thick slab, if you have a flat and true surface below (which you probably will have after you remove the fretboard anyway) is to set up a router jig, riding the router on two rails along either side of the neck, and make shallow passes. This might be difficult with a neck through, however - the body may be in the way, and you may have difficulty getting the neck and the rails to sit parallel to each other.

Given that you're not removing much material, this might not be any quicker than using spokeshaves, but it's an option.