Very Annoying Problem!

Sami Ghouri

hey there guys,

I just finished a guitar in the brightest white i could find for a customer. I have never done white guitars before so maybe it sounds stupid but after spraying about 3 coats of poly it looks off white now! Its really important that i get a bright white finish on this one. Is that normal for poly? Or is it that i was a bit heavy? And if its the latter, how do i fix that without ruining the stenciled design that i did?

If poly would normally look yellowish then what should i have used instead? I really have no idea what to tell the guy when i see him! Please help!

Edit: the guitar was sprayed today btw! It hasn't dried yet. Should i just wait for it for a couple of days first?

Edited by Sami Ghouri

well,

minwax looks yellowish even when its just in the can. i have not used it on a white guitar, but it might have looked like that just because its minwax.

depends on what kind of white you used for the base. was it automotive? i recommend a auto 2 pack clear. dries as crystal clear as you could possible get.

well,

minwax looks yellowish even when its just in the can. i have not used it on a white guitar, but it might have looked like that just because its minwax.

depends on what kind of white you used for the base. was it automotive? i recommend a auto 2 pack clear. dries as crystal clear as you could possible get.