Dual P90 Install, Wiring Ideas?

rgx120d

Hey all.

I have a '95 Yamaha RGX-120d which I am in the process of completely reworking in the pursuit of "that sound."

I am going to be installing two Wilkinson P-90s in it (they're what I could afford) and want to try some fancy stuff with the wiring. The guitar currently has one selector switch, a volume knob, and a tone knob. I want to maintain that factory look, but have more sound options.

What I was thinking of doing was using a stew-mac five way super switch to have these options:

1. Neck pickup

2. Both, parallel

3. Both, out of phase

4. Both, series

5. Bridge pickup

I am not completely new to electronics so don't be afraid to use jargon, but I'm not very good at coming up with complex wiring schemes, so this is where I am running in to trouble. After drawing circuit after circuit, I just can't figure out how to get these options with just the five way switch. Actually I'm not sure if its even possible at all. I've thought of using a small selector switch and a push-pull tone pot, but that is where I am really in over my head. Basically, I have no idea what to do.

help!

On an aside; has anyone heard good/bad things about these pickups? I've seen a few good reviews. Also, would you recommend I just stick with modern electronics, or try to nail some vintage caps to help out the tone that little bit? Lastly, when people do out of phase mods, are the pickups in series or parallel out of phase?

Hi...interesting idea...options are limited to the kind of five selections you have there with two single coil pickups. A 4p5t superswitch should allow pretty much any custom wiring along these lines but it is confusing to work out.