Importance Of Quartersawn Wood

I am going to be building an acoustic in a month or two probably. I would like to have rosewood sides and back, I have heard the sides need to be quartersawn but if I go here they are not http://www.westpennhardwoods.com/shop/cart...ategory_id=1063. I can't get any rosewood quartersawn so would it be ok to use flatsawn or not? Also I am going to be getting a bunch of sitka spruce tops do these have to be quartersawn or is flatsawn ok? Should I just try to use the closest to quartersawn piece I can? Thanks for any help, I am new to building acoustic guitars.

There's a reason quartersawn wood is used. Check out a book about acoustic guitar building, it will explain it right at the beginning. Melvyn Hiscock's book about electrics explains it as well. Basically, it's more stable than flatsawn wood.

I understand that quartersawn wood is more stable, what I would like too know is how bad is it to have the back and sides flatsawn or as far from flatsawn as possible. The website I linked to is selling flatsawn back and side sets so I take it it's ok to use?

All acoustic backs and sides are flatsawn anyway. Have a look at this picture. It depends on what sort of stresses the wood is undergoing and what measures are taken to alleviate those stresses. All guitar tops are q-sawn, easy to tell by what the grain looks like ie. parallel lines 1/16th to 1/8" apart. The top wood has to be q-sawn for its natural stability and its ability to deal with direct string tension while using as little bracing as possible.