I'm crying over this....never happened before

Most likely in the 30 mark, if a "prototype" is worth $5,000 more.

The regular series goes for $25,000. It's a 250 or so piece inlay, mostly abalam. Specially developed stuff, extra thick, about .10 in some cases. It's quite the CNC mill technical wonder.

Craig

It might be a work of art, it might be a really impressive inlay, but ya know, I just think it's tacky as hell. Looking at the close up's, it's really not as impressive as I thought it was, just a nice design, I guess I can't really be impressed by that stuff though. The CNC route everything, Water jet CNC cut the shell, and inlay it.

I have the utmost respect for guys like Craig, and hopefully people respect me for the reason that all our shell is hand cut, routes are done by hand and it's all fitted by hand. I don't really have much respect for CNC builders, only because I know CNC very well, I was a machinist before I built guitars, and with CAD/CAM programs, CNC is very easy in the simplistic routes like inlay requires. It only requires money to do. I look at that PRS dragon, and Craigs work, and I think "so somebody wants to pay 25K for a guitar that, a guitar that they will produce a run of, and every one will be identical (save for teh figuring in the shell) vs paying a custom shop for a one off inlay."

if it were my money, I'd want something that nobody else was going to have :D

Well, you know I WANTED to say that, but... :D

B)

Personally I think it's not that artistic of a dragon. It's too "beastly" for me.

I like my dragons with a bit more modern "stealth" look to them.

I am in the middle of designing one that I hope will express my vision.

We'll see what happens.

Thanks LGM.. keep cutting!

Craig

I would agree with LGM/Clavin. PRS has a very successfull marketing program and/or auora about them that leads people to believe that their guitars are "hand crafted" from the wood blanks down to the final goodbye from the factory.