Confused Sg Body Shaping / Contouring

glaus

I have several questions here so please forgive me. Thank you for your help.

What is the best way to cut an SG-style body and have hard edges and contour? I’ve been using a cheap scroll saw to cut the body using a paper template that I’ve glued to the wood. It works well but requires considerable sanding to remove the toothmarks from the scroll saw blade thereby defeating the purpose of using the scroll saw in the first place (again, cheap scroll saw, 18 tpi blades, and I’m a novice). When I sand the edges, I inevitably have some roundover of the edges. I’d like to minimize roundover and yet make the edges less hard.

Also, how do you contour a body (let’s say around the SG horns) and make the contour well-defined? Please forgive my improper use of terminlogy – to clarify, if I’m looking at the top face of the body, there is shaping of the horns just inside the edge of the body. Is this done with a router? Or alternatively, would you first make your edges softer with a rasp/file and then plane the top surface of the body to give you a hard edge? Is any of this done in combination with a spindle sander and if so, what is the order of events?

While we’re at it, does anyone have any tricks for perfecting the circular shape of the horn (the inner circle between the tip of the horn and the neck)? I’ve been using a sanding pad for smoothing out imperfections. It looks really good, but I can still see the imperfection and it kills me. Is the answer simply patience and continued fine sanding or is there a better way?

Finally, does a well-aligned bandsaw have an advantage over the scroll saw in that the blade is unidirectional?

Again, thanks in advance for your responses. Anything you can do to shed the light on this here newb would be greatly appreciated.