Making Guitar Bodies

Every guitar has the usual shape of being able to fit in your arms. Is there an easy way of designing it to do this with geometry?

I am a little new to this. I have been reading a book on the subject for about a month and a half. I usually build robots but I wanted a hobby that dealt with wood and sound. I play guitar and base guitar. It seemed like a perfect fit.

You have to think of it like art. I don't think there's an easy way to do it well, but I don't consider myself much of a visual artist, and I've designed two body styles that I really like. I designed each one differently. Here's what I did.

The First One: I started off with a book full of graph paper and just started sketching things until I made something I liked. Then I traced it on to another piece of graph paper with a minor change or two. Rinse and repeat about twenty or thirty times, and there you go.

The Second One: I found a picture of a guitar I liked on the internet and opened it with Paint. Then I traced the outline, and erased everything else. (A little time consuming, but it goes quickly, and for some reason, I find that process relaxing.) Then I did the same thing I'd done on paper. I changed one little bit at a time until I had something I liked.

If you're better at this than I am, you might just sketch something you like and be good to go. I'm sure some people probably do that. If you want to go with the geometric approach, you're probably best off to look into the work of Bo Diddley.

Bo%20Diddley_1.JPG

I'm pretty much in agreeance to the above. What I have done is;

Get a piece of Melamine offcut out of the shed (preferably on MDF) Trace a good design in pencil (in my case a Stratocaster) then erase sections at a time and gradually re-shape it into something to your liking...or draw what you think you'd like then erase after