So I'm A Builder Noob, Right? Well...

I need some advice from the guitar building elite :D

I'm looking to build myself a 7 string. Now, I'm a mad perfectionist, so I wouldn't worry about the fact that it'll be my first build..

So, armed with my Melvyn Hiscock book and my intermediate woodworking skills, I'm hoping to build me a 7 string. Am I an idiot for trying a 7 string as my first build?

Now.. I was thinking of buying this -- http://www.guitarbuildingtemplates.com/58Explorer.htm -- to start me off. I don't have the tools I need, but I have carpenter relatives who'll no doubt give me a hand and let me use their tools n' such.

This is where the hivemind of knowledge that is projectguitar and various other sites comes to help out a noob. Am I an idiot for trying a sevenstring as my first build? Is it even possible to use that template to make a seven string? I'm guessing I'd need to modify the neck in some way, so feel free to slap some sense into me

Thanks for any help guys.

Edit » Sorry if this is the wrong forum. ;o

Edited by Shanbo

It probably wouldn't even be worth it to buy that template to make a seven string. I think you'd be better off getting plans instead of templates, and just for the body, like the explorer one here http://www.guitarplansunlimited.com/Body%20Templates.htm

Also that makes it so you can build a bolt-on, which would be an easier first time endeavor, or not build a neck at all. And you can modify the body to accept a 7-string neck.

You'll need to make your own templates either way, the plans just give you more flexibility and save you some money.

Shanbo,