Les Paul With Piezo Wiring Options

feral_smurf

My next build is going to be a les paul with a piezo pickups in the bridge. I am just asking whether any of the knowledgeable people here will know whether my plan will work.

I'm new to the wiring thing and don't have much knowledge of complex schemes but if i want to wire the piezo in to the main circuit and be able to control the volume can i just replace one of the tone pots with a volume pot for the piezo. With this pot replaced can i then have 2 output signals, one from the piezo and another from the humbuckers (with master tone wired), and then switch between the 2 signals using a toggle switch at the output jack (i.e 2 signals to one after the switch). This will hopefully let me select between piezo + mixed + normal les paul. Also if all the pickups have induvidual volume pots then will i be able to blend the pickups together on the mixed option without the need for a preamp?

Hopefully you can understand my ramblings

Simon

Ps Could i also replace the toggle switch with a blend pot and get a more gradual effect

You can hook up piezo passively, but it needs a high impedance volume pot(the Graphtech Ghost system recommends a 5Mohm pot with a 330pf treble bleed). Other than that you just treat it like any other pickup(see the manual for specific instructions).

With the preamp it can be on the same volume as the magnetic pickups though.

I'm not sure how well the volume levels will match without the preamp. I assume the piezo will be pretty damned quiet. The Graphtech manual shows the passive piezo hooked up onto the other channel of a stereo jack, making me think that it won't balance well with the magnetics and should be run independently to an external preamp of some sort(like the house PA system).