Long Radius Blocks Anyone?

Hey guys,

I have been looking. Is there anywhere else besides stew mac that has long radius blocks? (like 20" long) There is no way I'm paying 110$ for a piece of aluminum with a radius in it. Is there anyone that can make me a wood one that long??

Not to defend SM but I know of no other vendor selling aluminum blocks. If you want to do this for a living spend the money as you will always have a consistent bock which will never warp. The extra length will make the job go faster and in the long run save you money. If I could afford a set I would buy them. But I dont build for a living so I suffer with the 8" blocks.

Buy the radius bits from SJE-Guitars then you need only light radius sanding?

The SM price was $126 when I just looked I did not see the $110 price you mention.

Would 16" be long enough for you? THIS place sells 16" long blocks with any radius you want. I have no experience with them as I ended up making my own blocks but the price seems pretty good to me for a CNC machined quartersawn maple block of that length.

OO Thanks! That looks pretty good to me. Do you know where they are located?

Spoke,

See, they are even more than what I thought! I dont really need a aluminum one, just a longer one than 8".

I cant use those radius jigs, because i buy my fretboards pre slotted. My drill presses table doesnt rotate, so i cant use the Safe t planer method to make one. That is why i was asking too, if someone could make me one.

See, they are even more than what I thought! I dont really need a aluminum one, just a longer one than 8".

I cant use those radius jigs, because i buy my fretboards pre slotted. My drill presses table doesnt rotate, so i cant use the Safe t planer method to make one. That is why i was asking too, if someone could make me one.

The longer the wood block gets the chances of it changing dimension increases.