Rhoads Routing

Narcissism

Here's the deal:

I'm making a Rhoads body. I had everything planned out except for the input jack. I've never done a strat style jack before. I'm putting the jack in the standard jack location for a Rhoads style V (upper wing above the strap pin). My question is, is there any special way to get a channel from the input jack to the control cavity (on the bottom wing) without routing out a surface channel and then covering it up with a laminate?

Here's the deal:

I'm making a Rhoads body. I had everything planned out except for the input jack. I've never done a strat style jack before. I'm putting the jack in the standard jack location for a Rhoads style V (upper wing above the strap pin). My question is, is there any special way to get a channel from the input jack to the control cavity (on the bottom wing) without routing out a surface channel and then covering it up with a laminate?

an extra long drill bit.

http://www.wealdentool.com/acatalog/Online...N_1869_657.html

Its a UK company but i suppose anything similar might work.

The absolute best way is to plan to put a top on it...rout all of your tunnels in the back and then cap it with hard maple...

Maybe as a bit of inspiration I should tell you that the combination of alder and mahogany is about the tastiest marrying of woods I have ever done...A mahogany back with a 3/4" alder top and a maple neck would sound about as sweet on a V as you could ever imagine...

Avengers, BRILLIENT!

Wes, I'm going to do that on one of these guitars, as I've read your reviews on mahogany + alder. I have enough wood left over to build another V, and I'll be building a neck with this one too. got any sound samples?

Feral, I have one of those. Unfortunately I would have to run the channel through the string ferrules if I want to get a straight shot to the control cavity. Good try though!