How to use a Dremel

renablistic

uhhhhhh. i'm an inlaying noob. ANY and ALL info and pointers (and direction on which bits to use) on how to use the dremel will be appreciated.

Here are some specific questions:

1) WHICH BITS DO I USE?!?!

2) what speed is best for routing the inlay "hole"? (RPM)

3) Would the flex shaft be easier to use?

4) Where do i buy diazepam to stop this damn shaking?!?!

5) What else should i know? (pointers and such)

well, ill help ya with the diazepam :D pretend your schizophreniac to a doctor on checkup, i think that might work! only jokin! im also wonderin about the dremel routing stuff, cos i wanna inlay sometime.

mike

Dremel for routing inlays help 101

Use the lower speeds, they give you more torque, something you want when inlaying into ebony, too fast and you'll smoke out the wood, scorch it. That's BAD when inlaying into maple.

I use the Stew-Mac fordom router. Even at it's fastest speed it's still relatively slow. Around 1 or 2 on the dremel. Dremel has a lot of speed you don't need for routing.

Check out these links and products..

http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Inlay,_pearl/T...rl_cutting.html

http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Foredom_...tary_Tools.html

As far as bits go Dremel has tons of bits that all look very cool and seem magically usable somehow. For inlaying I use only one type of bit- the stew mac carbide down cut bits, in the different sizes.

The carbide makes them last, and they cut exeptionally clean, with little or no fraying of the edge route.

Also, using the flex shaft will stop your hands from that "vibrating for hours after your done inlaying" that you feel. :D

I know these are pricey things, but you are only as good as your tools.

Craig