Removing Mystery-finish

Xaromir

Sorry for creating so many topics, it's my first project and i have to learn a lot.

Well i've tried to get the finish on my little parlor guitar off before, but sanding that by hand is really hard,

so i wanted to ask for alternatives.

I have no idea what it is, but i suspect it to be shellac, since it probably was the finish of choice at that time.

I got some in my nose and mouth when trying to sand it since i don't have a respirator,

it has a slightly sweet smell and taste to it.

I've also tried to get the bridge off, i did that with a iron and a e-string when i've done it on the fretboard,

but i thought i try a hot blade this time,

and i noticed the finish instantly started fizzing and sort of melting - a bit like cooking.

It get's white and dull when heat and liquids are introduced to it, i noticed that when getting off my fretboard.

What is it? And how do i get rid of it?

Edited by Xaromir

It's very likely it is shellac. Have you tried a varnish scraper? That would be my weapon of choice. Just make sure you scrape away from you so you don't swallow or inhale the stuff that comes off.

I have not tried a scarper, since i don't have one.

Maybe razorblades would also be ok?

Well... i have to wait till next month anyway if i have to buy something new for it.

There is just one thing i'm worried about:

Will i notice if i hit the wood? If it get's dusty, then i would not be able to see it,

that stuff sticks to everything, and it's hard to get rid of the dust, even by blowing.

Yes, shellac is a disgusting thing to swallow.

What is it made of again? Excrement of what? Well, what ever.

I would get a respirator, but my hardware store only got those closed ones that make you breath in what you just breathed out.

Can't wait to get really started, every time i look at it i plan something new,

i will maybe also rebuild the bride now, i think i can call it a rebuild now, rather than a restoration. >.<