Sustainer Humbucker Sized Build

trad3mark

Hey all,

Right, so i decided i'd have a go at making a sustainer. I've been making pedals for about 2 years now, so i'm guessing this shouldn't be too difficult..... I remain optimistic. :D

I've an old humbucker that's going to be victimised for the project. I've dismantled as much of it as i can. Right now, I have two seperated coils, the magnet, the spacer, and things like the bracket etc. I've searched and searched the forums for as many answers to my questions as possible, so big apologies if i've missed the answers elsewhere.

So, onto my questions.

1. Firstly, is it really necessary for me to go make a new bobbin and wind that up etc, or could i manage with what i have?

Where did i get this idea from? well it's nothing major really. If the coils that i have seperated already have pole pieces running through them, could i just seperate them (so they're 2 single coils instead of 1 humbucker) and then attach the magnet back to one of the coils, so the pole pieces become magnetised, or does the magnet HAVE to be inside the coil? My idea behind this was to just have the one coil being used as the driver, and then with the other one, leave it there, but have it grounded so that it'll fit neatly into a humbucker sized route.

2. Has anyone tried this with the coil being perpendicular to the strings?

If my electromag theory is correct (haven't done physics in 4 years, so it could be wrong) but wouldn't that make the flux stronger??

It'd be such a big help if i didn;t have to go out and buy stuff for this. I've all the necessaries for the preamp etc, but the driver is going to be the tricky part i think.

1. Firstly, is it really necessary for me to go make a new bobbin and wind that up etc, or could i manage with what i have?