Burns Tri-sonics

danbking

Hi. I'm new to guitars, and things. I've done a lot of woodworking, and in general, I am very handy. I've got the bug to make my own guitar. I'm doing it on the cheap (as much as I can). I'm going to make a somewhat replica of Red Special, from Brian May (of Queen). As I read things, and I think that there's as much legend/myth as there is truth out there about this guitar, I'm trying to see what the Burns Tri-sonics are like.

Does anyone have one of these lying around to take some pictures of? What I'm confused about is that the descriptions say that there are just 3 magnets stuck end to end here, and that the wires are just a hodge-podge stuck in there. And that the casing of the pickups are chrome, so they extend the magnetic field of the magnets. It seems though, that every other string would be traveling through a different polarity. Wouldn't that make the sound a lot different (scratchy even)? Anyways. I'm looking to make these, I have a forge at home, and could form the case myself. But I'm anxious to see what these actually look like on the inside and what the hodge podge of wires on the inside look like.

Thanks for any help! You guys are awesome! I've looked at quite a few things in here to help me along as I go.

Dan

The Tri-sonics are some interesting pickups and I have far from the complete picture. Talking of picture, lets start with a few of of the best that is out there:

http://www.gettyimages.se/detail/85848932

http://www.brianmayworld.com/TriSonicsDimensions.jpg and

BurnsTriSonic.JPG