Hss Wiring With A Twist

mistertaylor

Hi Guys,

I'm currently working on rebuilding my first guitar (just a cheapo Legend strato-o-copy, but with a certain sentimental value) and I've been working through some ideas for wiring.

Inspired by the schematics on www.gmarts.org I've come up with the following wiring diagram (apologies its hand-drawn), but would like some expert opinions!

5385724176_675d096c68.jpg

Wiring Diagram by weapologisefortheinconvenience, on Flickr

If I understand it correctly (and I'm new at this) the volume, 2 x tones and 5-way switch would function as per a standard strat. The addition of the coil tap switch would enable selection of either single coils within the humbucker (labelled inner and outer) and the humbucker itself. The idea being that when the 5-way switch is set to the middle+bridge position, the coil tap will select the single coils in the humbucker (one will be out-of-phase and one will be in-phase).

The second toggle will give the ability to switch-in an extra tone capaciter of large or small value (or be off).

Hope this makes sense, and thanks for any suggestions/ideas!

ps you can follow my progress at The Return of the Legend

The idea being that when the 5-way switch is set to the middle+bridge position, the coil tap will select the single coils in the humbucker (one will be out-of-phase and one will be in-phase).

Neither will be out of phase, one will be hum cancelling, one won't.

The second toggle will give the ability to switch-in an extra tone capaciter of large or small value (or be off).

What is the purpose of the 270k and 1M resistors? they load your circuit and bleed high end even when your tone switch is 'off', your tone switch is like the Gretsch's one except for these... in the neck+mid pos. you have the equivalent of 5 pots loading your signal down, not ideal...

And I'm not sure if I'd call .043 (.01 and .033 in paralleled) and 0.033 'large and small values', there's only around 20% difference..