Fret Dressing & Maintenance

GTR Music

• 2 months later...

Well.. lets go trough a refret and we'll use stew mac prices... (you can also MAKE some of these tools and i will list the generic cost)

start by yanking hte frets with a pair of pullers.. $26.45.. You can also grind down and hone a pair of end nippers $15.. (I've been using mine for 10 years)

then you'll want to level the board with a radius block $15.95 (for one... you'll need a set of them...$97 (but you cna get them cheaper off evilbay)

next new frets.. you can pre-bend them by hand with two dykes or buy a bender $89.90 or make one... i dont know the cost but i saw one posted here.

then you'll want a fretting hammer.. I use a stew mac hammer $19.95 and a deadblow I got at woodcraft $9

OR an arbor press $50 and a stew mac adapter with inserts $50

now.. i ALWAYS trim my tangs, even on unbound boards and then seal over the slots (stops them from poking out later) Tang nipper $50 (or you can do it by dremel but that takes a lot longer and time is money)

then you'll need something to level and bevel your fret ends... Stew mac $70 i made mine out of a 6" maple 3X3 slotted it on a table saw at the correct angle and inserted a file $10 bux

then you'll want an end dressing file.. $10-25 depending on what you get..

THen some stickit sandpaper to go on your radiius block to level the frets $40 a roll

I give my jobs a final level with one of the aluminum 18" radius blocks $132 EACH.. i have four!

Then you need a crowing file.. I use both the offest diamond file $99 and the double edge traditional type file $40

Then you need sandpaper and steel wool to get your frets ready to polish...

then you need a dremel and a set of polishing wheels and some metal polishing compound to polish your frets (prices here depend on what and where ya get it.. i use eastwood white rouge and regular dremel polishing wheels)

Oh.. a dremel toolk... I use a cordless dremel stylus.. $65 bucks