Clear Coat Peeling Away, Need Help !

pauliemc

OK. this one has me stumped.

Im using automitive clear. 2K. with a hvlp gun. Same setup as I have been using for the past 3 years with no problems at all. But for some reason the clear coat that I put onto 2 guitars this month just peels off. Its almost like taking a jacket off of the body, there seems to be no adhesion to the underlaying surface. twice on one, & about to be 3 times on the other if it fails again today.

I figured it may be a conflict between the base coat colour paint on one guitar, But the second is not coloured & the same happens there. I have tried samples on scrap & they are fine. you need a sander to get it off. but on the guitars it just wont stay put.

Anybody had this before ? any advice ?

Please layout your complete process, including what products up to what gun pressure you're spraying at. Sanding process, flash times, everything you can think of.

The more detail you tell us the more we'll be able to help isolate the problem.

Be it prepsol not wiped off, hardner failure, inproper sanding process... just tell us everything.

Cheers

Edited by demonx

OK. This is the stuff I used here =30608&tx_vossnew_group[action]=show&tx_vossnew_group[controller]=Group&cHash=6c7653c61d3c89b6a46d32bd34a89cd5]My link

I have used it on many guitars like this.

01) sanded to 320,

02) left to hang in 25degree C to acclimate for 24 hours.

03) cleared off with air @ about 60 PSI. then applied primer.

04)scuffed to 320 after 24 hours drying. applied clear coat with colour additive

05) wait about 5 mins & apply second coat.

06) leav for 72 hours before applying top coat of untinted clear.

07) wait 5 days then begin polishing

I use a graco finex gun with 20 psi reading at the gun when the triger is pulled.