Applying A Photo To The Entire Front Of Guitar

I am a photographer and a guitar player.

I would like to finish the entire front of a guitar with one of my photos.

I have never attempted anything like this before. so I am not sure if it's possible, or how to start.

I have considered having my tattoo artist airbrush it, but it kind of defetes the purpose.

I have tried to find info online, and here's what I've found: http://www.projectguitar.com/tut/logo.htm

If the entire front on the guitar is the transparency, how does that effect the clear coat, being such a big area?

My plan is to strip the guitar, prime, color, apply picture, clear coat.

Does anyone have any experience doing something like this?

I'm open to other ideas.

Thanks,

Anton Fury

You can do this....you will have to apply the photo and then seal .Take a junk piece of wood and a throw away pic and test your process.Just know applying a full body top pic will be hard. You will need to treat the photo like a piece of lam. ,curves and cut outs have to be factored in. It can be done , just not as simple as it sounds.

You can do this....you will have to apply the photo and then seal .Take a junk piece of wood and a throw away pic and test your process.Just know applying a full body top pic will be hard. You will need to treat the photo like a piece of lam. ,curves and cut outs have to be factored in. It can be done , just not as simple as it sounds.

What is lam?

I am planning the photo to be the size of the face of the guitar... in this case, an Epiphone LP Junior that I bought cheap, just to try this... I will cut the photo to the shape of the guitar, about 3/8 in. smaller, so the edge of the guitar will create a border.