Sabre Body For Ibanez S-470 Neck

Hallo. Thank all of you for sharing your skills here. I am a beginner in guitar building, so far made two bodies. One of spruce, one of sapeli that I want to show. I bought a nice second hand Ibanez neck and trem, so it was an obligation to make a decent S body for it. I tried to carve the body with a radius jig, to some extent successfully. I have not seen many S shaped bodies made by luthiers, so I wonder how others do it.

More photos here: http://kmensik.rajce.idnes.cz/DIY_S

P1140836.jpg?ver=2
Ibanez S470 neck,
sapeli mahogany body, thickness 13-45mm,
thin shellac finish,
Edge Pro tremolo,
AANJ,
HH, Ibanez NeoZ pickups

Sapele always has a ribbon figure when quartersawn.

Tone-wise, it's a bit darker than mahogany.

On the plus side, it's not only cheaper than mahogany, but there is only one strain, so you'll always know what you're getting. AND it works easily.

On the bad side, it's sometimes sold as mahogany, and is often harder to find.

I am glad you like it, thanks.

Here in the Czech Republic you can buy only sapeli (if you are lucky enough), no other of the mahogany family.

This one is very heavy, hard, sounds pretty bright.

The jig is similar to the one for fretboard radius, with only half of the arc and a flat top. Works well, but needs three hands. I moved the router with my right hand only, holding and rotating the body with my left, it was no good, killed one router bit.

P1140582.jpg?ver=2

I am very happy that I made the jack hole and the switch slot quite nice clean, because the wood chips so easily.

My first one of wormy spruce was not clean work at all, though I tried hard. Photos: http://kmensik.rajce.idnes.cz/DIY_GTR/

Edited by kmensik
  • Like 1

I am glad you like it, thanks.

Here in the Czech Republic you can buy only sapeli (if you are lucky enough), no other of the mahogany family.

This one is very heavy, hard, sounds pretty bright.