Epiphone Coronet 1966

oerni

Hi guys,

first of all i´ve never built a guitar on my own, but i build a lot of other stuff with wood and know how to handle all the required tools. So for a long time it´s my dream to build myself a Epiphone Coronet, just because as a student i can´t afford to buy an vintage ´66.

So the design of the guitar is not that difficult. Just one P90 in the neck and 1Tone and Volume Poti. But I´m really curious about the neck. It seems that i have to build one. I was hoping that i could by one and it would fit into the design but that´s not possible. (If you have any ideas please let me know)

by the way: It´s a 22 fret neck with an extension so you can glue it to the body

so is it possible for me to build my own neck although i´ve never build a guitar before? :/ 

thanks for your replies and if you have any tutorials for this type of guitar please let me know! :)

66 Epiphone Coronet.pdf

1966_Epiphone_Coronet_553664.jpg

Not familiar with the Coronet - looks like a set neck construction?

No reason why you couldn't modify the body shape slightly to give it a Strat-style heel and fit a bolt-on neck if you're worried about building your own.  Plenty of aftermarket pre-assembled bolt-on necks available online.  Looks like the headstock shape could almost be cut down from a plain Strat-style headstock too.

You'd need to be aware of the scale length of any premade neck you decide to go for, as it has an impact on the location of your bridge relative to the position of the frets.

Stewmac have ready-to-go bolt on necks.

Lots on Ebay (some dubious quality, but much cheaper than Stewmac)

Warmoth

Allparts

• Like 1