My first full build from scratch

birch

So far all my work has been hotrodding of cheap factory guitars including adding and changing pickups and hardware, and custom paint. Sadly I have no pictures of many projects due to a fried hard drive and my tendency to procrastinate backing up files.

I have one example on my first thread on this site of a strat I painted a couple years ago.

I started my first scratch build last year and have been making slow progress through buying a house and moving, renovating and otherwise eating my spare time away. 

I am now making more progress each week and thought it was time to get some feedback before I tackle some of the tasks I've never tried before.

I'm contemplating a neck joint that I've been thinking about but haven't been able to find any examples of its use so I'm wondering if there is a good reason that I'm not aware of... I want to do a set neck but my neck blank is not long enough to to a traditional tenon so I'm thinking about glueing it in through the back of the body. This would allow me to avoid a heel and carve a smooth transition from neck to body and make a nice flamed maple accent in the back of the body. I think it would also provide enough surface area for a strong glue joint.

Is there any reason why this is a bad idea?

image.jpg

2 hours ago, birch said:

Nope, that will work if executed properly. Avengers did a couple of similar joins 4 or 5 years ago, although his tenon was longer. You will need to get your neck angle from the route, so plan that out carefully. You made your routing job a bit trickier by carving first, so you'll need to be a bit creative in mounting your template. I must say, I do like the shape and carve, very nice. Are you contemplating a flame shaped F-hole?

SR

3 minutes ago, ScottR said:

Are you contemplating a flame shaped F-hole?

SR

Thanks, I am working out a design for a flame shaped F-hole and fretboard inlay but I'm not happy with what I've come up with so far.