Re-top new guitar, thoughts?

Hi all,
  (new to the forum!)

I am thinking about buying a new MusicMan Axis, removing the (ghastly) top and putting a new one on (spalted maple if i can find a nice looking piece, hopefully with a slight drop-top "armrest" to make it a little extra special to me). My question to you: is this too crazy? ;-)

I love my MM Axis and wouldn't mind to have a second one. EBMM once made a few with spalted maple tops for the Japanese market. I very much would like to "build" my own, something like this: (everything with natural finish)

photo_0003.jpg

I found a nice Axis with a great figured neck, and luckily the top is extremely ugly (imho) so I don't feel bad at all about destroying the top and putting something new on.

I think it will be relatively easy to do the woodwork.
I have no experience with building guitars, but I do think I can do a re-top. Copying the guitar from scratch however will be a tough challenge (design, skills, time).

I am a bit worried about doing the finishing. I have no feel for how hard that is.

In case you are wondering: No! Taking the Axis that I already have and putting a new top on that one is not something I'm emotionally capable of :)!

Thanks for all your thoughts!
Cheers,
  Johan

You could always make another body (back included) and transfer the neck & hardware over. You could then put the original guitar back as it was if you ever needed to. It won't take much more effort to make the back as well - a lot less effort than trying to remove a top and fit a new one.

• Like 1

Hey Johan and welcome onboard!

As Norris mentioned, it is likely a better idea to make a new body from scratch. The kind of operations you would need to do to an existing body would be more or less the same amount of work, plus there would be a high risk of failure. At least you'd have that fallback.

We'll ignore the finishing aspect for the moment and look at the most difficult issues facing you here.