Solid Body Tenor Guitar: Pickups & Pots

bentstavanger

Hello everyone!

I want to do some modding on the electronics of one of my guitars. It's a solid body tenor, 4 strings, tuned as 1st to 4th string on a regular guitar, sometimes tuned as 2nd to 5th string. But I'm completely new to this, so there's is a lot I need to find out before I get started. Here are my most urgent questions, I hope someone out there knows the answers:

1) There's a volume and a tone control on the guitar, but I rarely use them. 99% of the time, they are both set on 10, as I control the volume and tone on different gear (volume pedal etc.). What would happen if I simply removed the two pots and let the wires run straight to the output jack? Would I notice any change in sound quality, output level etc.? Would there be any argument for leaving the pots, even though I don't use them?

2) What are the differences between bass pickups and guitar pickups, aside from the string spacing? The guitar I wish to mod has a quite wide string spacing, closer to that of a bass than a guitar. I wish to know, if I can use a bass pickup.

3) What happens when two or more pickups are sent simultanousely to one output? Are the signals simply summed together, or are there impedance and output issues I need to be aware of? E.g. is there a risk that one pickup can ruin or cancel the sound of another if they don't "fit" together (e.g. a bass PU together with a guitar PU)?

Thanks to all! :-D

On 25/07/2017 at 7:30 PM, bentstavanger said:

What would happen if I simply removed the two pots and let the wires run straight to the output jack? Would I notice any change in sound quality, output level etc.?

The output would be a bit hotter and a bit brighter compared to running the pickups through volume/tone pots set to 10.