My Les Paul

Hi! I'm an italian amateur guitar builder. I started this hobby three years ago and I recently finished my 8th build. As I posted the pictures of the guitar on the "guitar of the month" contest, I decided to open a thread here to publish all the photos taken during the building process.

For this Les Paul build I followed the plans made by John Catto, but I didn't want to build a real replica: I respected all the original sizes and the top carving, but woods and some building choices were customized. 

To start I prepared all the templates

ASMbicj.jpg

Then I glued two pieces of ash from the same board, and i cut the body leaving some space  for refinishing it with a router.

9OnbGKk.jpg

Next step was to route the channel for the wiring and, on the other side, the cavities for the pots and the toggle switch

B8JumI0.jpg

ACm5zAN.jpg

Now it's time to see how much this piece of ash weights

46edy7K.jpg?1

This is really too much! A finished guitar would be near to 6kgs! So I decided to route a large weight relief chamber.

This is the template

5QBKMuU.jpg

And this is the result after the shock diet! :D

cUMt07L.jpg

Near to 1kg less!

I wanted a dark wood for the top, because I like the contrast between the top and the body, so I found this asian ebony, really similar to Makassar, which was very figured and enough thick to be a Les Paul top (16mm). 

SGWVdsg.jpg

Firstly I glued the two parts together:

hDreRBU.jpg

Then I glued together top and body using my vacuum pump. To be sure that the wood doesn't move I tightened two screws on the pickup positions.

5UyGApS.jpg

I've bought this pump to glue veneers, but I had really good results also with thicker woods and now I wouldn't go back for clamps!

Here is the result after routing the sides: the glue line is almost invisible.

yxt9IcX.jpg

• Like 1

Before starting to carve the top I routed the back contour with a 5mm concave bit.pql7A3q.jpg