fretfind2d multiscale help! rhino beginner help!

guitarjunkie87

hi peeps I've just joined the site and i could do with some complete noob help.

right i have this design and a few different versions of it (different perpendicular fret positioning)

im having a real hard time working out how to determine the bridge angle from fretfind2d information, what calculations do i do and where do i find the exact numbers i need to for this?

i will be using a 7 string hipshot multiscale hardtail bridge and i'm stuck not being able to figure out whether i need the 11, 18, 21 or 26 degree bridge.

i imagine this is a stupid thing but i haven't done much math properly in about 16 years so i'm just stuck on stupid and need some advice lol.

once i know how to do the calculations for my bridge angle i can do the rest and become familiar with the routine.

i appreciate any help you guys can give me.

26-27.5 scale perpendicular fret - 12 - 30 frets.pdf

FretFind2D gives you the tables of key data on the web page. The angle you're after is the 'Bridge angle':

image.png

This is given in degrees from vertical (note that the 'Midline angle' is 90 degrees, which would be your perpendicular fret).

So to determine your ideal bridge angle, just subtract your Midline angle from the Bridge angle. In the above example it's 144.78 - 90 = 54.78 degrees.

4 minutes ago, curtisa said:

FretFind2D gives you the tables of key data on the web page. The angle you're after is the 'Bridge angle':

image.png

This is given in degrees from vertical (note that the 'Midline angle' is 90 degrees, which would be your perpendicular fret).

So to determine your ideal bridge angle, just subtract your Midline angle from the Bridge angle. In the above example it's 144.78 - 90 = 54.78 degrees.

Hi thank you, me and my fiancee did do it this way once, so I was using the correct number but I was expecting to get something nearer 18-26 degrees.

Is it because I have 30 frets that the number is where it is?