3D Printed Guitars [Experimental]

Hi! This is my first time posting here. Hoping to use this as a soundboard for a crazy idea I'll be testing here in the upcoming months. (If I post anything incorrectly, and need to change anything on here let me know)

I'm skilled with 3d Printing (I'm an engineer at heart), and have been exploring how to implement the additive prototyping process to building guitars. I spent over a year modifying and experimenting with a few guitars' electronics (just enough to make them look like something from a scifi film. I'm trying to do something different, and while 3d printed guitars do not seem to be new, I have not known anyone to use the additive process as an efficient way to produce a really nice guitar without having to learn and use expensive woodworking equipment. 

Here's what I've worked out so far:

I figure, due to the way it will be printed, the guitar will probably resonate similar to a hollow body guitar, but sound and tone are something I will have to test with the first prototype. (Dubbed model SM-1b)

I first use Adobe Illustrator to design a vector (.svg) with all the measurements for everything, This allows me to accurately measure all the holes, cavities, and properly space all the parts being used for the guitar.

Next, I import the vector into Fusion 360 where I can extrude and make the template a 3d model. This has been easier than trying to build it from scratch in the program. I may make a youtube tutorial on this process eventually, just in case anyone wants to emulate this as well. It is split up so that the pieces will fit on a printer bed, and can easily be glued and pieced together.

Pictures of SM-1b model in Fusion 360:

Untitled-2.thumb.jpg.cd8a92dcd7e2f4f05879e1d58535a4d9.jpg

Untitled-3.thumb.jpg.09eb3e3175f381c3324678dc8fd1c1da.jpg

May make a separate post in the builds section with specifications about the guitar build itself another time perhaps.