Burl void filling, stains and oil finish

JouniK

Hi,

Suggestions for methods of filling poplar burl (1cm thick drop top) voids when using water based stains and an oil finish? I am pretty new to building guitars and wood working let alone working with poplar burl and was wondering how would you guys treat the wood when option is to use water based stains and an oil finish. I want as much as possibly to highlight the wood textures with stains and use an oil finish. How do I minimize the affect of filling the voids with glue etc. to stains or oil finish?

I have read about filling the voids with epoxy/CA glue, CA glue + wood dust/coffee grounds or let the voids open. Any pros or cons to these?

How about sealing the grain?

20190902_153826.jpg

Hi JouniK and welcome to the addiction!

There's many ways to skin a cat. One option would be to apply dye to the glue+dust mix but that might cause issues if you want to fade from one colour to another like on a burst. Anyhow, wood glue like TiteBond might be better than CA since it has a longer open time and doesn't change the colour of the wood dust when drying.

Coffee grounds? That might add a pleasant smell, especially for us Finns!

Are you 100% sure you want an oil finish on the burl? Poplar is pretty soft by itself and the burl is even softer at certain spots and porous as a sponge! For a decoration on the wall that'd be no issue but if you want to gig with it, lacquer would be much tougher. That would also make filling the voids much easier.

I chose oil finish so that it would be as "organic" looking as possible. Yeah, I noticed that burl is pretty soft and porous but thought that several coats of oil would make it tougher enough. Do not like much about laquer or poly finishes. And because I do not have equipment or separate place to spray those on so those should be wipe-on products.