Neck through bodies

TQU

Hello, I'm a quite new guitarist (about 2 very casual years). I've been lately looking at a cheap 7-string guitar with a Floyd rose. I already own a cheap but quite decent MICHAEL BATIO MAB7X 7 STRING - CBK guitar which I'm really happy with. I've been recently looking for a "new" guitar and I've found couple of guitars which cost almost nothing for what they seem to be worth. I'm fully aware these are counterfeited fake guitars made in china. I'm really interested in the neck through bodies that they come with tho. Is it worth buying for the bodies and bodies alone and installing new bridge and other components? Or are there somewhere the neck through bodies for 7 string Floyd rose bodies that I can buy? My budget is 500 pounds which is roughly 700 dollars. I know many will say to just buy a new original guitar but there really aren't any guitars providing neck through bodies with 7-string Floyd rose at this price range and due to already owning another 7-string guitar with Floyd rose bridge I only need the body to swap the components into.

Guitar.png

Agile guitars have the Interceptor Pro range - 7 string, Floyd Rose, neck-through - for less than $600US.

What about looking at the secondhand market for a Schecter C7 or ESP Horizon 7FR?

The risk with buying a cheap guitar and transplanting decent quality hardware across is that you chance either ending up with a guitar that still isn't a particularly good instrument despite having expensive hardware installed, or (more likely) a second guitar where the donor hardware isn't compatible. Not all Floyd Rose bridges are created equally, and there's no guarantee the double-locking bridge in the Dean will be a drop-in replacement for some no-name Chinese clone. The post spacing could be different, the routing in the body could have different dimensions etc. The use of the name 'Floyd Rose' doesn't automatically imply a standard component across different manufacturers.