Lumberjack’s first build on Project Guitar

Hey PG, I’ve been building off and on for about 12 years or so at a very “side-hobby” level and this will be my first foray here on the forum. It’s going to be a straight forward 2-humbucker guitar with 24 frets, pointy horns, and lots of flame maple. Here and the specs, pics of my starting lumber, and the progress so far over the last few days:

Specs:

- 25.5” scale, 12” radius, set neck

- 24 stainless steel frets, slight partial scallop in upper frets, MOP dot inlays

- Reverse headstock with maple cap to match body

- Hipshot locking tuners, Gotoh tune-o-matic bridge, string-through-body ferrules

- Volume, tone, 3-way toggle, individual coil splitting switches for each pickup

- Bareknuckle Holy Diver humbuckers

- Blue/teal stained top, natural “binding” a la PRS, natural back with neck stained to match, satin lacquer over everything

8Kc3kQ1.jpg
African sapele with a wavy ribbon

S7dm8XK.jpgBig leaf curly maple top

IuOzvsS.jpg
Eastern curly maple and ebony 5-piece neck, pau ferro fingerboard

cqDzp4J.jpg
Scarf cut, maple cap glued to headstock face, fingerboard cut, slotted, and roughly radiused  

U0qawAZ.jpgTop glued, body roughly sawed out.

6kOTIxx.jpg

Scarf glued, truss rod routed and installed, headstock roughly cut and drilled, fingerboard glued on and a last minute decision to rip some binding from the curly maple top and use it to bind the fingerboard. 

Cheers!

• Like 4

3 hours ago, mistermikev said:

holy crap... excuse me while I recover from that flamed maple... SOURCE PLEASE!  Like what you are doing there with the binding too... that all is going to tie together nicely.  Vcool.  Look fwd to watching your build.

Thanks for the warm welcome fellas!  This particular maple top is from Kimball Hardwood's eBay store.  They're a relative new-comer it seems, and frankly I have no idea how they're selling their tops as cheaply as they do - I got this bookmatched 0.32" thick top for $40.