Headaches running a business

Crusader

I'm a self-employed carpenter which is quite different to being a Luthier or running a guitar shop, but I want to share some of my experiences  because I think you might have similar stories

Talking about prices, there is a door company who advertise on tv and their prices in some cased are 4 times what I would charge (with no fuss) And yet I get people who see my quotes and ask "Why is it so expensive?"

Some people come out with these "tactics" (ie.) I spend half an hour measuring and adding up figures then tell them the price, and they say the last guy's quote was a $100 less. So I say "well get him to do it" and they reply "Ooh but he can't get here till March"

I had one job where I was fitting skirting throughout the house and in the meantime the lady had all the relatives over for lunch and a bit of tv. When it came time to do the loungeroom, I had to explain to them that I needed to get to the wall behind them. So they shuffled the armchair forward a few inches.....

I had a lady who wanted me to put the hinges of a door the other way round so the "knuckles" or "pins" were not visible. So I explained that the door has to open outward, but she still wanted the knuckles on the inside. I explained again that if you put the hinges that way round then the door would open inward. She still didn't understand