Knobless? Wha...?

JayT

Not sure if is the correct forum, but how simple would the electronics be without volume or tone controls? Not even sure its practical at all...

I ask because (1) I've no experience in electronics and am about to do it first time and (2) I like simplicity.

This occurred to me because my friend's band has a new album coming out and watching the new song video today I noticed the lead guitarist's guitar has zero knobs. Here's a screen-shot from video:

1301823643_ScreenShot2020-02-21at1_42_34PM.png.63858c335937cb5a8ef6717a1ca906dc.png

not the greatest pic and the video moves so fast hard to really tell what's going on, so I found this pic online:

1474850020_ScreenShot2020-02-21at1_00_54PM.png.3a52043bc3c6ffb43961cbdeeb3a26dd.png

I did research on this and found an interview that answers why:

You don’t have tone and volume knobs on your custom guitar, right?

EC: You know about that?

Yes.

EC: No, I don’t. I got rid of all that stuff. I don’t have knobs, because when I use to play I’d hit the knobs and then wonder why the tone sounded so bad [laughs]. And, I’d hit the volume and it’d go down and I’d have to turn it back up. The first time I could finally get my own guitars made, I didn’t want the knobs. That’s really what rock n roll is anyway – on and off – there’s no in-between [laughs].

I love that!

EC: That’s the way our music is, it’s on and off! There’s a song we’re playing loud, then there’s a brief space and then other song we’re playing loud. That’s what rock n roll is, I don’t know where people got all these different pickups—there’s just loud, with a little taste to it when you hear the notes.

It does a switch, but only one pick-up...I guess it's an ON/OFF switch? Does it make any sense to want to build a guitar like this?

Either way, interesting I thought