Paul Reed Smith (PRS) Travel Size guitar build

Hello everyone,

I wanted to share a project that I'm working on... PRS inspired/style Travel Size guitar build. 

Disclaimer: I'm new to guitar building and mods... So, will likely be asking around for advice for learning and lurking around all the cool projects, gear, and axes here.

Anyhow, inspiration for my project is my own CU22 model, though, it'll be more like a CE type (with bolt-on neck).   

Of a travel size, the body portion is essentially the size of a regular sheet a paper, at 8.5"W x 11.75"L.   The neck will feature 24 frets at 25.5" scale length.  Attached are some pics to share.

And some progress videos as well

Part 1: https://youtu.be/TpcWkaX64eg 

Part 2: https://youtu.be/rmdxkFaUScMimageproxy.php?img=&key=f97eefb1b72cb1bc

In the next steps, I plan on setting the neck angle break and establishing the neck plane. I'll be routing all of the cavities.  First time going through these steps... so am a bit nervous to not wreck the nice wood I have. I appreciate any tips/constructive comments you all might have. 

thanks for viewing!

-Tony

IMG_6478.jpg

• Like 2

18 hours ago, TSK said:

So, will likely be asking around for advice for learning and lurking around all the cool projects, gear, and axes here.

Welcome to the forum Tony!

Bring it on, we love to watch and offer advice. First piece of advice: if this is your first time routing highly figured wood, and what you've got is certainly that....and gorgeous, use some off cuts and set up some test routes so you can get a feel of how the router behaves and how that figured wood reacts. Getting a bit of practice will help calm the nerves as well!

SR

• Like 1

3 hours ago, ScottR said:

Welcome to the forum Tony!