omg can nitro experts chime in?

so... I've been finishing my lespaul/tele for about 3 months now.  short version is I scratched finish scraping binding, all the way to wood, so did complete refin.  then i left it outside and the shade got away from it and the sun caused little bubbles.  then I burned thru the sunburst again trying to fix that.  this time I spot repaired the burst and it turned out good.  but now... grandpa's getting old... lost control of fingers, dropped a can and got a nice 1/4 shatter mark in it.  I wetsanded it down and thought maybe new finish would melt into it but no such luck.  I'm staring yet another complete refin in the face here and went online and did some reading about how to 'un check' a finish using butyl cellosolve... is that the only option?  I'd have to order more than I'd like to have around and then wait 3 days to get it. 

would a drop of acetone work?  hair dryer?  ca glue?  any other options? 

it's less of a 'fill' and more of a 'tiny cracks/shatter marks'.  I think now that I put a layer of nitro on top it's probably sealed so ca glue likely will do nothing. 

oh, despair.  I guess if this is the worste thing that happens today... i'll be ok.

anyone help a brutha out?

As you know I'm no expert, but I used CA in quite a few place son the bass. Once I got the first few coats of lacquer on, I found several hairline cracks in the wood that I didn't notice before the gloss, I filled those with CA, sanded flush and recoated. Those areas are now completely invisible. 

Based on how many gos you've had on this build though, I think you need to make some sort of sacrifice before you proceed, maybe a goat, cow, or sweet spot blonde.

• Like 2

@mistermikev I’ve made a few posts in my Black Queen build as well as @Crusader s build where we both had some checking issues. I procured some Cellusolve and it IS the best way.