1958 Goya G-10 Restoration

I'm a newbie when it comes to working on guitars. At 13 yrs old, my step-dad gave me an ovation applause 12 string in 79 to play in his band. Thats been the only guitar i played until my 50's (started playing it again at 50, now 52), but that project will be another thread. I inherited this G-10 from my great aunt and the golpeador on it (white) was peeling off (see the outline). When I removed it (no heating, just a razor), it dug into the finish as shown. One of the tuner pegs was also bent and the neck had both dirt and wear on it. I wound up sanding it down while I evaluated the finishing options. Several folks suggested tru-oil but its unavailable here in CA. Others suggested a wipe-on poly. I wound up using the wipe-on poly as a leveler, sanded down that to minimum, then lacquered the top. Its been about 2 months since i finished it and am wondering it I should even bother with wet-sand/buffing or leave it as is? The finish is smooth but its not glossy hard. I have some clear pickguard material as well that i feel I should use for protection. Thoughts? 

g10-1.jpgg10-2.jpg

g10-5.jpg  g10-8.jpgg10-12.jpg

g10-18.jpg  g10-20.jpg

g10-22.jpg  g-10-f2.jpg

Thanks for reading.

• Like 1

She's a pretty instrument and you've done a nice job in restoring her!

As the lacquer has visible streaks I might be tempted to level and buff it. At least that would provide a flat surface for attaching a golpeador or smaller scratchplate.

It had been decades since I had had a classical so when my daughter bought a semi-wreck I had to relearn how to tie the strings. It's no rocket science but there's a trick or two for the best results.